Friends

My hubby and I have often said we make lousy friends – not that our friends are lousy but due to our nomadic life-style we find time to commit is challenging! Interesting that on my travels and as I spend time with church leaders wives I am frequently asked about my friendships, do I have any, is my life lonely, how do I manage? Picking up my Bible and scanning its pages I think of how Jesus was described as the friend of sinners and wonder if my idea of friendship is mis-placed. We tend to make good friends with those who are like us or who share a common interest or hobby, make us laugh or are there for us when life is difficult. A best friend is someone who is always there for us, listens to us and who takes a genuine interest in us.

Facebook accounts theoretically tell us how many friends we have, but checking through my account I realised some are more acquaintances than friends, but what does that mean? Is it only me that on a bad day Facebook makes me feel lonely and therefore assume I have no friends?! An orphan spirit creeps in and we believe its lies. Are friends therefore to cover the aching void we feel when alone or lonely? Looking at the lives of others  can lead me to generally assume that everyone’s life is more exciting, more friend filled, more fulfilled than my life could ever be!

I wonder how many of us seek to be a good friend rather than want a good friend?

A Bible verse I often have quoted to me is “he who shows himself friendly will have many friends” which takes the onus back to me rather than putting it on others.

Leave a comment