I surrender!

white flag

I wonder how many of you remember your dad tickling you? My Dad used to tickle me so hard. I would giggle for ages and then all of a sudden it was too much, I squealed for mercy but he didn’t take the hint. It was then not fun anymore, my powerless made me feel angry and I had to lash out before he finally got the message.

Surrender can feel like that too, just the thing to do when all else fails and the struggle has overwhelmed us. Not a happy surrender but a resigned and powerless one. We’re not sure of the outcome either as we surrender to a faceless enemy, one we don’t trust not to harm us.

‘There is no way for a human being to come to God that does not involve surrender’ says John Ortberg, but what a difference. We bow before an omnipotent one with a sense of awe but with security, knowing His love, trusting in His goodness and relaxing into His care. Whatever life throws at you there is a peace in saying:

“Father today I gladly place my life in your hands”

Leave a comment